Buddhist Essentials Class Series 2021

Buddhist Essentials Class Series (March - November 2021)

Homework, Reading and Listening

with Lyndal Johnson and Anna Ossenfort (March 17, 2021)

The Three Characteristics are the three aspects that pervade all of conditioned phenomena: anicca, dukkha, and anatta. When we begin to see these attributes in all of experience, wisdom arises that enables us to let go of clinging.

with Lauren Wilson and Jerry Harter (April 21, 2021)

It is said that theentirety of the Buddha’s teachings can be found in theFour Noble Truths. In this class we will explore these teachings:1) dukkha, 2) the origin of dukkha, 3) the cessation of dukkha, and 4) the path of practice leading to the cessation of dukkha.

with Sooz Appel and Jerry Harter (May 19, 2021)

With the understanding of the truths of dukkha, the cause of dukkha and the end of dukkha, we can embark on the Eightfold Path – the path that leads to awakening and the end of suffering. In this class we will discuss the elements and practice of the Eightfold Path: panna (wisdom), sila (ethical behavior and the precepts), and samadhi (concentration).

with Lyndal Johnson and Sooz Appel (June 16, 2021)

The Ten Paramis (generosity, virtue, renunciation, discernment, equanimity, patience, persistence, truth, determination, and goodwill) are beautiful qualities associated with an awakened mind. In this talk we will discuss the paramis and consider some ways in which we can encourage their development in our own practice.

with Anna Ossenfort and Susan Alotrico (July 21, 2021)

Mindful examination of the body, feeling tones, mental states, and dhammas reveals the true nature of phenomena, leading to clear seeing and liberation.

with Anna Ossenfort and Steve Wilhelm (August 18, 2021)

Gaining insight into obstacles on the path can turn them into possibilities. During this evening we’ll explore the Five Hindrances (desire, ill will, sloth and torpor, restlessness, and doubt), and the Three Poisons (greed, hatred and delusion). We’ll learn how these barriers to freedom arise in our lives, and how through our mindfulness practice we can transform them into doorways.

with Sooz Appel and Susan Alotrico (September 15, 2021)

Through discussion and practical exercises of the Seven Factors of Awakening, we will explore how awareness of these mind states helps us to let go of unwholesome tendencies and to cultivate wholesome ones, in both formal practice and our daily lives.

with Lauren Wilson and Steve Wilhelm (October 20, 2021)

How do we cultivate energies that encourage our capacity for caring and compassion toward ourselves and others? In this class we will explore developing in our daily lives the brahma viharas, also called the four immeasurables: loving kindness, compassion, sympathetic joy and equanimity.

with Jerry Harter and Lyndal Johnson (November 17, 2021)

The Five Aggregates (form, feelings, perceptions, mental formations, and consciousness) show how we create an illusory sense of self moment by moment. By examining them we can come to understand how we are not so much a solid self as we may have thought.

Upcoming Buddhist Essentials Classes

Scroll to Top